Excellence in Teaching

We are so proud to announce that two of our very own Civil and Environmental Engineering faculty members were honored with awards for Excellence in Teaching. Professor Dave Naylor received recognition for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and Dr. Srinivas Pulugurtha received recognition for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.  These exceptional educators exemplify the highest standards of teaching, inspiring countless students and colleagues alike. Through their unwavering commitment, they have enriched the educational landscape, fostering a culture of excellence and ingenuity. Their passion for teaching transcends boundaries, igniting a spark in every learner they encounter. CEE’s “sweep” of the College’s teaching awards is a testament to the high value our department places on teaching and learning.

Professor Dave Naylor (pictured left manning the grill at the ASCE Carolinas Symposium) exemplifies how to prepare students to be “Real World Ready,” while successfully providing the theory and understanding needed for research and graduate academia. He has led undergraduate students through their Senior Design projects for 17 years. Professor Naylor’s students say that ​​“He provided such insight and practical assignments that it was easy to see the translation from education to application”.

Dr. Srinivas Pulugurtha (pictured right at the 2023 Airport Engineering Seminar) has maintained an active learning environment with in-class problem sessions, group work and informal presentations. He shares his passion for research with his students by bringing them to important conferences to witness first-hand how researchers perform their craft. Dr. Pulugurtha is Co-Director of the newly launched Charlotte Aviation Innovation and Research (AIR) Institute, the only partnership between a major airport and a major university in the nation.

Join us in extending heartfelt congratulations to these two outstanding individuals, whose contributions continue to shape the future of engineering education. Together, we applaud their remarkable achievements and commitment to excellence. Congratulations Professor Dave Naylor and Dr. Srinivas Pulugurtha.